Big League Baseball World Series

District 1 Host Team Announced

big league world series 2014 district 1 team

EASLEY, S.C. – June 23, 2014 marked one month until games are played at the Big League World Series. It also marked the announcement of the District 1 host team. Around 3 PM the Easley community gathered to congratulate the 17 players selected to represent the local area and compete against some of the best high school baseball athletes from around the world.

Upstate South Carolina is known for producing competitive baseball players that ultimately produce a healthy dose of competition among the local high schools. The Big League World Series presents a special opportunity for the best players in the region to play together for once. This year the District 1 host team is comprised of 17 players from nine different schools.

From Laurens High, the team picked up Grayson Bailes (INF, OF), Thomas Jones (OF, INF), and Cody Smiley (3B, DH, RHP). Easley High School is represented by Brandon Hood (1B, DH) and Casey Woody (C, DH). Doug Gressly (LHP, OF), Tanner Mack (3B, DH, RHP) and L.T. Tolbert (INF, RHP) – who was recently named to the U18 National Team Trials – are the trio from Wren High. BHP High added Blake Holliday (RHP), Dax Roper (C, DH,1B, OF), and Dylan Southerland (OF, RHP). From Emerald High come Matthew Mulkey (OF, DH) and Sheldon Reed (1B, RHP, DH, 3B).

Four more local schools each produced one player to add to the roster: Zach Biggers from Walhalla High (INF, OF); Christian Cain from Daniel High (C, 1B); Jacob Childress from Ninety-Six High (RHP, INF, OF); and Adam Hill from Hanna High (RHP, 1B).

This District 1 team will be managed by Gregg Powell and coached by Bobby Youngblood and Todd Freeman. The S.C. District 1 Administrator is Tommy Keef. Jon Humphrey is the BLWS Tournament Director.

The action on J.B “Red” Owens Recreation Complex Field 1 is just beginning. Come join the fun on July 22 at Fan Fest, which includes a chance to meet the teams, a home run derby, and a country concert to close the night. The games start July 23 and continue until the championship game on July 30 that will be aired live on ESPN at 6:30 PM.

For more information on the other teams joining the action from around the world or on your local district, visit Also, find us on Facebook at or on our Twitter @BLWS2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>